BOE Teacher of the Year

Deerfield, KS: USD 216 Deerfield has named the 2024 Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year winners. This program is put on by the Kansas Department of Education and is recognized as one of the nation's premier Teacher of the Year programs. USD 216 is participating in the program for the first time and is excited to be a part of the program and start this tradition moving forward of recognizing and honoring our great educators at the local level. This year's winners are eligible to attend the regional banquet in Salina, KS, in the spring, where the regional winners will be announced. If selected as a regional winner, the teachers will move on to the state competition next fall in Wichita, and at that time, the 2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year will be announced. The Kansas Teacher of the Year then represents Kansas in the national competition. 

This year's Elementary winner is Mrs. Judy Steinbrink. Mrs. Steinbrink is in her 32nd year of education at USD 216 and, during that time, has served as the K-12 Music Teacher and PK Teacher. 

This year's Secondary winner is Mrs. Jennifer Wieberg. Mrs. Wieberg is in her 16th year of education and 9th here at USD 216. During her time in Deerfield, Mrs. Wieberg has served as MS/HS Math Teacher and currently is a PK-12 Career/Guidance Counselor. 

USD 216 wants to congratulate both teachers on their nomination and win and wish them luck moving forward. Both these teachers are great educators who impact our students' lives every day they walk through our doors.    

You can go to to see the story or download the USD 216 App.